Gastroenteritis away from home

On June 14th, a Friday, in clubmed Phuket still feeling unwell. The illness began to intensify; by nightfall, I was vomiting. Seeking relief, I visited the infirmary where the nurse mentioned that several others had exhibited the same symptoms.

Dinner was out of the question—I had already expelled nearly all my lunch, dessert included, on the beach. Despite my weakened state, I tried to clean up the sand, scooping the remnants into plastic cups. My children, sensing the gravity of the situation, crafted warning signs to prevent others from venturing near the contaminated area.

After consulting the nurse and returning to the hotel, I took some medication, clinging to the hope of recovery. However, the night proved relentless; the vomiting persisted. Morning brought a slight reprieve, though I chose to skip breakfast, preferring instead the solace of bed.

As I lay there, watching Channel NewsAsia, I stumbled upon a revelation. Unlike the usual fare of death and destruction, the channel highlighted solutions—stories of overcoming adversity and resolving crises. In my state of discomfort, this shift in narrative brought a surprising sense of calm and inspiration.

On the night of June 15th, 2024, I managed to have a bit of porridge and soup for breakfast, though the smell was overwhelming. By lunch at 1 PM, I could only stomach plain porridge and some watermelon. The hotel kindly extended our checkout to 2 PM, allowing me to rest a little longer. I spent the morning weak and bedridden.

At 2 PM, we left our room and waited in a lounge filled with other guests. Exhausted, I tried to nap until my husband called me. We gathered for a family photo at the main entrance before setting off for the airport in a small van. Thankfully, this time, I didn’t vomit.

Arriving at the airport, the check-in process was long and tedious. Passing through the gantry and entering the terminal took hours, a stark contrast to the efficiency of Changi Airport. Despite the delays, we had just enough time to buy an overpriced burger before boarding our Scoot flight back home.

By the time we reached home, it was 1 AM. The cab fare was double the usual rate, a final inconvenience in a string of many. Yet, as I settled into my own bed, there was a sense of relief. The journey had been grueling, but I was home, and that was enough for now.

### What I Learned from a Difficult Father’s Day: Insights from Stoic Philosophy

On June 16th, Sunday—Father’s Day—I found myself too weak to celebrate. My illness had taken a new turn; the vomiting subsided, only to be replaced by diarrhea.

The day passed in a blur of discomfort. My family, sensitive to my condition, kept things quiet. My husband took on the responsibilities of the day, tending to the children and making sure I had everything I needed. I only got up occasionally to soak the clothes in Dettol and put them in the wash. My husband handled the rest, hanging and folding the laundry with care.

From my bed, I could hear the faint sounds of laughter and celebration, a bittersweet reminder of what I was missing. My body, exhausted from the relentless onslaught of sickness, demanded rest. I managed only a small bowl of rice and some vegetables. The simple act of lying down became my only solace.

Even in my weakened state, I felt a pang of gratitude. Despite the illness, despite missing out on Father’s Day celebrations, I was surrounded by love and care. This, above all, gave me the strength to endure another day.

#### What I Learned: Stoic Philosophy in Action

Reflecting on this experience, I found several principles from Stoic philosophy that resonated deeply with me:

**Acceptance of What is Outside Your Control**

One of the central tenets of Stoicism is to focus on what you can control and accept what you cannot. My illness and the physical discomfort it brought were largely outside my control. Embracing this fact helped reduce my frustration and stress. Epictetus wisely said, “It’s not what happens to you, but how you react to it that matters.”

**Practicing Mindfulness and Presence**

Despite my sickness, I noticed and appreciated the care and love from my family. This aligns with the Stoic practice of being present and mindful of the positives, even in difficult situations. Marcus Aurelius advised, “Nowhere can man find a quieter or more untroubled retreat than in his own soul.”

**Understanding and Using Your Inner Strength**

Even in my weakened state, I found solace and gratitude, which speaks to my inner strength. Stoicism teaches that our true strength lies within, in how we handle adversity. As Seneca said, “Difficulties strengthen the mind, as labor does the body.”

**Appreciating the Support of Others**

My husband and family provided support, which I recognized and appreciated. Stoicism encourages recognizing and valuing the roles others play in our lives. Marcus Aurelius often reflected on how he owed much of his character to those around him.

**Maintaining Perspective**

Stoics emphasize maintaining perspective by seeing things as they are, without exaggeration. While my illness was severe, recognizing that it was a temporary state and focusing on the eventual return to health helped keep the situation in perspective. “We suffer more often in imagination than in reality,” as Seneca reminded us.

**Cultivating Gratitude**

Despite my discomfort, I felt gratitude for the love and care from my family. Gratitude is a core Stoic practice. As Marcus Aurelius wrote, “When you arise in the morning, think of what a precious privilege it is to be alive—to breathe, to think, to enjoy, to love.”

By applying these Stoic principles, I found strength and tranquility even in the face of illness and adversity. This experience, challenging as it was, became an opportunity for growth and resilience.

Published by Athena

A change agent (PMP certified project manager) who to help organisations achieve positive results and be more eco friendly. In my free time, I like to explore new places on a bike, learning about psychology (more than electrical and electronics engineering) and experimental planting. Everyday is a gift.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started